Register :: Log in :: Profile   

Kendo, Kenjitsu, Iaido, & Weight lifting.
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Samurai Archives Citadel Forum Index // Martial Arts
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lord Ruin
Artisan
Artisan
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:29 pm    Post subject: Kendo, Kenjitsu, Iaido, & Weight lifting. Reply with quote
I've been lifting weights for a couple of months now and I was wondering ( since I'm planing on going into Iaido, Kendo, and hopefully some Kenjitsu )if my Weight lifting with hinder or be beneficial for my martial arts plans.
ichibyoshi
Vagrant
Vagrant
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you've only been lifting weights for a couple of months it's unlikely you will have any hindrance from your weight training.

Weight training can be beneficial but it can be done a whole lot of different ways depending on what you want out of it. For something like kendo, explosive power and speed are necessary. However very specific muscle groups are used and it is very hard to work those actual muscles with general weight lifting routines. It is important that you learn correct cutting and footwork technique, and then design a weight routine that exactly mimics those movements. This is why people do suburi (practice swings) with weighted bokken (wooden swords) as cross-training.

Generally, once you start training, your sensei will show you drills that you can practice at home to increase power and stamina. Flexibility and relaxation is at least as important as muscle power.

BTW - it's "kenjutsu" not "kenjitsu". Smile
b
Lord Ruin
Artisan
Artisan
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
ichibyoshi wrote:
If you've only been lifting weights for a couple of months it's unlikely you will have any hindrance from your weight training.