Register :: Log in :: Profile   

Use of cannabis in Zen Buddhism?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Samurai Archives Citadel Forum Index // Japanese Art and Religion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ichijo
Vagrant
Vagrant
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 1:37 pm    Post subject: Use of cannabis in Zen Buddhism? Reply with quote
Hello ,I am a student of Japanese lenguage and culture to university ,I read on this site :http://www.cannabisculture.com/articles/101.html Zen, the meditative, Taoist influenced branch of Buddhism, was also influenced by cannabis, in the forms of marijuana and hemp. Samurai and scholars who followed Zen's subtle tenets express cannabis' inspiration in arts like Haiku (short poems).

In the following Haikus, the feeling of cannabis is clear. The wandering Zen poet Issa Kobayashi writes:

The cannabis around my hut
also has suffered
From summer thinness.
Just when I hear
The sundown bell,
The flower of this weed.

Basho the Haiku Master writes:

The cannabis- How wonderful it is!
The summer drawing room.
Trees and stones, just as they are.
Ah, how glorious!
The young leaves, the green leaves,
Glittering in the sunshine!

And one more, author unknown:

When all things are hushed,
suddenly a bird's song
arouses a deep sense of stillness.
When all the flowers are departed,
suddenly a single flower is seen,
and we feel the infinity of life.

also read:http://www.encyclo.co.uk/define/Kiseru

Kiseru is an old style Japanese smoking pipe. Kiseru were used for smoking a wide variety of substances, including tobacco, cannabis, and opium.

I do not know how reliable this article since there are not academic references.And the authors of these articles are of part.

Zen practitioners and samurai absolutely did not smoke cannabis right ?
lordameth
Awa no Kami
Awa no Kami
Veteran Member
2009 Benefactor
2009 Benefactor

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote