Register :: Log in :: Profile   

Setsuyôshû

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Samurai Archives Citadel Forum Index // The Edo Period
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SteffenRemvik
Vagrant
Vagrant
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:33 am    Post subject: Setsuyôshû Reply with quote
I'm doing a phd project on setsuyôshû (節用集) from the early modern period, and I'm asking for your help. I'm looking for any reference to setsuyôshû in any other sources. An example for what I'm hoping to find more of is for instance things like this: http://www.wul.waseda.ac.jp/kotenseki/html/bunko10/bunko10_08034_0006/index.html . This is an advertisment for a book lending store and it is mentioned that they have setsuyôshû. Another thing I have randomly stumbled over, was an advertisment for a specific edition of setsuyôshû in the back of a Kannon sutra book. Another thing I could think of where setsuyôshû might be mentioned is diaries.

So, if you happen to stumble upon a mention any kind about setsuyôshû in your studies, I would be very happy if you could tell me, either here on the forum, or via my blog (I think there should be a link to it in my signature).

Also, if you have anything interesting (or not interesting) to say about these books, please feel free Smile
shin no sen
Izumi no Kami
Izumi no Kami
Veteran Member
Multi-Year Benefactor
Multi-Year Benefactor

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Boston Museum of Fine Arts has a couple of different versions. They have much in e-format and there may be something on-line. John
Bethetsu
Oki no Kami
Oki no Kami
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Having no idea of what a setsuyoshu is, I looked it up, and since some others might not know either, I translated a dictionary entry.